Adventures in August: Channeling Soweto

August 8, 2012 § Leave a comment

August is an unusual month for me because all of the summer activities I didn’t do in June or July I manage to squeeze into the proceeding 30 days. This includes beach trips, roof tops, pool visits and last minute travel deals. I find myself hopping on buses,trains, and trolleys to go wherever my budget will allow just to pass my city limits. This desire for adventure and travel came back to me as I revisited images from Ozwald Boateng’s SS12 shoot in Soweto, South Africa. Inspired by a safari he took in Kenya earlier this year, his collection creates a dialectical conversation between European aesthetics and Boateng’s visualization of his African heritage.

His omission of a traditional safari color palette stays true to his creative signature while offering us something unique. Green, orange and terracotta hues paint a vibrant picture of the African landscape through his eyes.

Observing the interaction between  color, fit, and the surrealistic artwork  provide visual cues that welcome us into Boateng’s vision.  This imagery incites in me curiosity and taste for adventure. Hopefully August brings the travels I yearn for !

Happy physical and spiritual travels 🙂

Rockyatu x Pearls and Revolution x

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Adventures in August: Channeling Soweto at Pearls and Revolution.

meta

